John C. Fleming Austin Lawyer Photo
John C. Fleming

Of Counsel

Mr. Fleming practices in the area of banking, mortgage banking, financial services, regulatory and administrative law, commercial litigation, and arbitration. His clients include banks, thrift institutions, mortgage banks, life insurance companies, investment advisers, and securities firms. Prior to joining Hays & Owens, Mr. Fleming served four years as General Counsel to the Texas Department of Savings and Mortgage Lending which oversees and regulates state chartered thrift institutions, mortgage brokers, and mortgage bankers. He is an adjunct professor at the University of Texas School of Law and a frequent speaker on arbitration, banking, and mortgage law topics.

Mr. Fleming is General Counsel of the Texas Mortgage Bankers Association. He is a former director of the Texas Association of Bank Counsel. The American Arbitration Association honored him with the 2008 President’s Award for Leadership in Conflict Management in recognition for his work in arbitration, mediation, and education; he also serves on the Commercial Arbitrator Roster. Mr. Fleming is a past Chair of the State Bar of Texas Alternative Dispute Resolution Section. He is admitted to practice by the Supreme Court of Texas and the Northern and Eastern Districts of Texas. Prior to moving to Austin, Mr. Fleming practiced law for over 23 years with the East Texas firm that is now known as the Zeleskey Law Firm.

Admitted in 1976, Supreme Court of Texas, Northern and Eastern Districts of Texas
U.S. Court of Appeals, Fifth Circuit

Law School
University of Houston

Lee University
with highest honors

Associations & Memberships
Commercial Arbitration Panel
American Arbitration Association
State Bar of Texas (Past Chair, Alternative Dispute Resolution Section)
American Bar Association
Austin Bar Association
Texas Association of Bank Counsel

Biographical Details
Formal General Counsel, Texas Department of Savings and Mortgage Lending, 2004-2007
Adjunct Professor, University of Texas School of Law, 1999-present